Patricia Barber - Modern Cool (1998) [MFSL, UDSACD 2003]

Patricia Barber - Modern Cool (1998) [MFSL, UDSACD 2003]

Patricia Barber - Modern Cool (1998)
EAC | Flac(Image) + Cue + Log & MP3 CBR 320Kbps
2002 | Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, UDSACD 2003 | ~ 398 or 184 Mb | Scans Included
Jazz, Post Bop, Contemporary Jazz, Vocal

The dark, smoky voice of Patricia Barber is quite haunting. On Modern Cool, she mostly sings downbeat songs at slow tempos. All but three songs are her own originals, and they deal with such subject matter as an "homage to beauty" that seems to connect painting one's face with prostitution, loneliness, mindless conformity, the "Postmodern Blues," and other such topics. Barber, whose piano playing is mostly very much in the background, comes across on this set as a pop/folk singer. Most of the jazz moments are provided by trumpeter Dave Douglas, who is on half of the selections and adds some excitement; guitarist John McLean, bassist Michael Arnopol, and drummer/percussionist Mark Walker complete the group.


01. Touch of Trash [5:27]
02. Winter [4:52]
03. You and the Night and the Music [8:03]
04. Constantinople [8:27]
05. Light My Fire [5:16]
06. Silent Partner [5:09]
07. Company [5:43]
08. Let It Rain [5:56]
09. She's a Lady [4:15]
10. Love, Put on Your Faces [5:46]
11. Postmodern Blues [5:49]
12. Let It Rain - Vamp [3:03]
13. The Fool on the Hill [5:05]

Download link:

Links are Interchangeable - No Password - Single Extraction

Add comment

Please disable your adblock and script blockers to view this page